Friday, August 12, 2022
No menu items!
HomeUncategorizedPoliticians who are likely to succeed Uhuru as Mt.Kenya kingpin

Politicians who are likely to succeed Uhuru as Mt.Kenya kingpin

President Uhuru Kenyatta is likely to exit from political wave after he is done with his second term which is likely to expire in 2022.

Uhuru who is the current  Mount Kenya kingpin exit in the political arena is likely to leave a vacuum in the region.

Several leaders have been in the frontline as hires of the region in order to represent their interests.

Our editor took the time to analyze the possible line up of Uhuru successors as a kingpin in the Mount Kenya region.

1.Anne Waiguru

She is the currently Kirinyaga governor.

Waiguru made political limelight in 2013 when she was appointed as Cabinet Secretary for Devolution.

She first served as head of governance and economic stimulus program at the National Treasury. After being appointed as CS devolution.

During her reign as Cabinet Secretary, she established Huduma center which has enabled Kenyans citizens to access government services easier, faster and efficiently. Anne is a competent civil servant this has earned him respect and various accolades.

2.Peter Kenneth

Peter Kenneth is the Former Gatanga Member of Parliament.

Under his leadership in Gatanga, the constituency was declared as the best in the utilization of constituency development fund.

Kenneth has also served as assistant minister of finance between 2005 to 2007.

He vied for the Nairobi Governor in 2017 before losing to Mike Sonko.

3.Mwangi Kiunjuri

Kiunjuri started his political career back in 1997 when he was elected the youngest MP in Kenya.

In 2015 he was appointed as Cabinet Secretary devolution to succeed then resigned Ann Waiguru.

3 years later Kiunjuri was switched to the docket of Agriculture however things didn’t go well and were later sacked.

The former Cs is alleged to have registered The Service party and received a provisioning certificate.

4. Peter Munya

Peter Gatirau Munya is the current Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture. This is after he was transferred from the Ministry of Trade and Industrialization.

He first served as Member of Parliament for Tigania East where he also served in the same capacity in the ministry of East African Community and Northern Corridor Development

He later became the first Governor of Meru County

He was the second Chairman of the Council of Governors.

He was until his appointment as a Cabinet Secretary the Party of National Unity (PNU) Leader. He also served.

5. William Kabogo

He won the governorship in the March 2013 general election.

He is the immediate former Juja MP which he won in the 2010 by-elections trouncing Alice Wambui of Kenya National Congress who was a distant second, while the previous MP, George Thuo of PNU was left third.

In 2017 he lost the jubilee ticket and conceded defeat way before the results were announced.

He was defeated by his rival Ferdinand Waititu for the Jubilee gubernatorial ticket in 2017 and thereafter quit the Jubilee Party and declared that he would run as an independent candidate.

6.Mutahi Kagwe

He is currently cabinet secretary for health as he took the oath of office on 28th Feb 2020. Mutahi also served as senator Nyeri county between 2013-2017 before losing a gubernatorial contest in the 2017 general election.

His greatest breakthrough was in 2005 when former president Mwai Kibaki appointed him as Minister of Information, Communication, and Technology (ICT).

While in that ministry he spearheaded the construction of Transformation East African Marine Systems (TEAMS), the first optic project for East Africa that gave birth to Safaricom’s M-PESA.

7.Mwangi Wa Iria.

Francis Mwangi wa Iria is the current Governor of Murang’a County.

He is also the current vice-chairman of the Council of Governors of Kenya, having been elected in January 2019.

Wa Iria has declared that he will be vying for the presidency in 2022.

He said he will be seeking the seat through his Civic Renewal Party (CRP) which will also field candidates in all other elective positions across the country.

Mr. Wa Iria said his party has so far registered about 400,000 members across the country.

Other leaders have made open their intention to run for the President when the time comes and effectively become the region’s political honchos.

Among them are Narc Kenya leader Martha Karua, former Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau, and Tharaka Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular