Wednesday, September 28, 2022
No menu items!
HomeYour CountyMombasaODM captures five out of six parliamentary seats in Mombasa County

ODM captures five out of six parliamentary seats in Mombasa County

The Orange Democratic Party (ODM) has maintained its dominance in Mombasa County after winning five out of six parliamentary seats in the August 9 general election.

The party also won a majority of Members of the County Assembly (MCAs) but once again failed to clinch the Nyali parliamentary seat. Former journalist Mohamed Ali comfortably retained his Nyali seat on the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket.

Ali famously known as Jicho Pevu reclaimed the seat he won in the 2017 election as an Independent candidate after garnering 32,933 votes against his closest rival Said Abdalla of ODM who polled 18,642 votes.

The three ODM candidates who retained their seats are Mishi Mboko (Likoni), Omar Mwinyi (Changamwe) and Badi Twalib of Jomvu constituency.

Rashid Bedzimba recaptured Kisauni parliamentary seat that he lost to Ali Mbogo during the 2017 election.

Newcomer and youthful Mohamed Machele won the hotly contested Mvita constituency seat after defeating 14 other candidates. The seat was formerly held by Abdulswamad Shariff Nassir who is now vying for the gubernatorial position.

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) candidate for Mvita parliamentary seat Mohamed Machele celebrating his victory after defeating 14 other candidates during August 9 general election.

The election for the governor of Mombasa County was suspended following a mix up in the printing of ballot papers. The election will now be conducted on August 23.


The County
The County brings you comprehensive and unrivaled coverage of the happenings in all 47 Kenyan counties. It has not happened in mashinani if it is not on The County!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular