Wednesday, September 28, 2022
No menu items!
HomeYour CountyNarokKilgoris MP aspirant concedes defeat

Kilgoris MP aspirant concedes defeat

United Democratic Alliance (UDA) aspirant for Kilgoris parliamentary seat has finally conceded defeat.

John Lekakeny Ololtua who came second in the August 9th 2022 election had earlier refused to concede saying that the election process was not free and fair.

However, he has changed tune and conceded defeat pointing out the interests of the electorate which he said outweigh the interests of an individual.

He promised to join hands with the winner Julius Sunkuli to propel the development agenda of the constituency forward.

However, he advised the MP-elect to discharge duties and provide services without discriminating anyone by virtue of religion, clan, or tribe considering that Kilgoris is a cosmopolitan constituency.

In the August 9th election, Sunkuli defeated 8 other candidates on a KANU ticket among them Ololtua, to clinch the seat he surrendered to the incumbent Gideon Konchellah.

Sunkuli trounced the opponents with 20,293 votes followed by Ololtua who garnered 16,713 votes.

Kilgoris Constituency Returning Officer Lilian Lillumah (L) hands over a certificate to Kilgoris Constituency MP-elect Julius Sunkuli (R) after declaring him a winner in the August 9th 2022 General Election.

Shadrack Olongui Sabaya (Jubilee) came third with 12,957 votes while Joel Tasur (Independent) came fourth with 1,889 votes. Former NEMA boss Dalton Oloishiro Konchellah (Ubuntu Party) followed with 1,882 votes.

Moses Ronkoe (Independent) followed with 1,379 votes, Richard Kelele (Independent) 621 votes, Johanna Langat (Independent) 333 votes whereas Joshua Partumai (DAP-K) came last with 262 votes.




The County
The County brings you comprehensive and unrivaled coverage of the happenings in all 47 Kenyan counties. It has not happened in mashinani if it is not on The County!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular